Six Vikings earn Pro Bowl honors

December 16th, 2008 – 3:05 PM by Judd Zulgad

It’s official. Cornerback Antoine Winfield will be joined by five of his teammates on the NFC Pro Bowl team. Also named to the team were defensive end Jared Allen, guard Steve Hutchinson, running back Adrian Peterson and defensive tackles Kevin and Pat Williams. Pat Williams was lost for a month on Sunday when he suffered a broken scapula. The Vikings just posted the information on their website.

Peterson, who leads the NFL with 1,581 rushing yards, will start for the NFC. Other starters from the Vikings include Hutchinson, Kevin Williams and Winfield. Allen will be a reserve behind defensive ends Julius Peppers of Carolina and Justin Tuck of the New York Giants. Pat Williams is behind Kevin Williams and Jay Ratliff at defensive tackle. Allen is fifth in the NFL with 14.5 sacks this season. Peppers is sixth with 12.5 sacks and Tuck is seventh with 12 sacks.

While Winfield will be making the first Pro Bowl appearance of his 10-year career, the rest of the Vikings’ selections have been there before. Allen was named a starter in the AFC last season when he was with Kansas City. Hutchinson has been selected to his sixth Pro Bowl (2003-08); Peterson went last season as a rookie and was named the MVP; Kevin Williams is going to his fourth Pro Bowl; and Pat Williams his third.


Comments are closed.

Access Vikings

Join Vikings beat writers Judd Zulgad and Chip Scoggins on a usually informative and often irreverent journey inside the Vikings.

Just like the NFL, Zulgad and Scoggins go at it all year long -- on and off the field.